Let’s talk about AI generated art, Baby! Part 2. (WGA & SAG-AFTRA Strike)

Much delayed continuation.

A guy in a Slack community said, ‘AI is outperforming their writing’ the reason being for WGA striking. AI can outperform Deez Nuts. (JK, Roko’s Basilisk, unless…) (also, I'm a girl but with a mech degree so I can say that)

Since I couldn’t pick a pic from the strike, enjoy this picture of Orcas.

Anyway, now that SAG-AFTRA has joined the strike, it not only means that there will be bad TV shows postponed dates as most are concerned.

The fight is not just against AI, but the top executives who refuse to pay actors and screenwriters a living wage. Is it even shocking anymore? Who knew life in Hollywood is not all glam?

No matter how it feels to look at Hollywood’s downfall from Bollywood’s lost status, I have to say that the Union may save them.

Personal remarks but as a young professional, this is the first time I have seen a strike this large against an organization so big and it fills me with hope.

From the larger gap between jobs to streaming, there are a lot of factors that affected this decision. They are not getting paid well, not getting their residuals, they are not getting enough jobs and their work is being used without their consent. Much like WGA writers. Here is a link to the VOX article which explains that side of the business.

Now about AI. All they want is the scan of an actor should be used with their consent and they get paid for it. Just like how singers and musicians will expect to own their voices and music. To me, it does not sound unreasonable but I am no one to say.

To them, AI is a necessary evil because AI cannot go broke. AI cannot strike or form a union. If they used it, they won't have to pay those actors and their residuals.

As much as I enjoy living in this wonderful world, we are living with a tyranny and a tyrant.

A company that pushes articles (name withheld) said, it would be more engaging and interactive than ever before to have AI actors in films and shows and I am done here.

They can go ahead and make this revolutionary but I hope they do not lose our likeliness, our personality and their love for acting. Writers, actors, artists and others, all alike create this art because they enjoy creating it.

With the recent ripples through content making side of the internet and the lines blurred of what should be shared and what should not, I think it’s time we step back and let this saturation end.

If you don’t want to murder me over this or want me to write about any other topic, follow me on LinkedIn or Medium. Please Clap and Comment to help my baby blog grow!! Please sire, feed the peasant.

A/N: I am writing a Sci-Fi story that revolves around AI and the future. To be able to write this, I will need support from you guys. If in any way you can help such as financially, through beta reading or editing, please reach out. Also, if anyone has an approach that worked for them regarding short stories, I would love to have a chat.

Goodbye, and I will not fix the typos. Bye!!

P.S. — If anyone reading is Android/flutter Dev considering volunteering to hone their skills, please reach out. If you know anyone who would like to intern or know someone, spread the word, pretty please.